Guest of Honour October2018-10-18T16:00:37+01:00

Guest Of Honour

October 2019’s guest will be announced soon!

2018’s guest was  Terry Rymer.

Londoner Terry Rymer burst on to the British national race scene in 1987 when, at just 19 years of age, he beat all of the top UK riders to win the Superstock race at Brands Hatch on a privately entered Yamaha FZ750. And to prove this was no ‘home’ circuit fluke he repeated the feat at the next round at Mallory Park.

After a season racing in club production races, which he dominated, after advice from his father, Tel Senior, Terry built his Superstock 750 in a shed next to the family council house. With a little engine tuning from the late legend Tony Scott, the pairing were instant winners.

By 1988 Terry had turned full-time professional, and in 1989 he won his first World Superbike Race, and in doing so became the British rider to win World Superbike race.

In 1990 he won the British Superbike Championship. International success followed with a victory in the 1992 FIM World Endurance Championship a feat he repeated in 1999. Rymer also competed in WSB rounds from 1988 to 1994, claiming two wins and nine podiums, with the best championship placing of sixth in 1991. He also rode in the prestigious Suzuka 8 Hour Race in Japan four times with a best result of second alongside side teammate Scott Russell in 1994.

Grand Prix outings also featured in Terry’s long and successful career with a sixth place on a Harris Yamaha in the 1992 British Grand Prix, which was followed by a handful of outings for the official Suzuki factory team in 1996.

The highlights of Terry’s career though had to be an unmatched record of five race wins in the Bol d’Or 24 hour race and two victories in both the Le Mans 24 Hour race and the Spa 24 Hour Race. He retired from motorcycle racing, aged just 32, after winning the World Endurance Championship for the second time in 1999.

Terry Rymer at Stafford Bike Show

Terry Rymer at the show!

Terry Rymer at Stafford Bike Show

Terry Rymer

Terry Rymer at Stafford Classic Bike Show!

Terry Rymer

Also Attending

In addition, Jon Ekerold and Pier Paolo Bianchi will be attending the show. South African Ekerold won the 1980 350cc World Championship, on a privateer Bimota Yamaha, against the might of the Kawasaki factory team and their ace rider Anton Mang. An old skool all-rounder Jon also won the Ulster Grand Prix and finished runner-up in the Isle of Man TT twice.

Jon Ekerold was a factory Cagiva rider in 1982 and the machine he rode forms part of the display.

Pier Paolo Bianchi is a three-time World Champion winning the FIM World title in the 125cc class in 1976 and 77, and for the third time in 1980. He was a factory rider for Cagiva in 1988 and the machine he raced is part of the display.

Famous Faces at Stafford

Giacomo Agostini

Wayne Rainey

Steve Plater and Frankie Chili

John Surtees

John McGuinness

Carl Fogarty

Phil Read

Graeme Crosby

Nick Jefferies

Sebastian Vettel

Richard Hammond

James May

Lembit Opik